NASCAR Moves The Clash to Saturday Night at 8PM ET Due to Threat of…

With the threat of an unprecedented severe weather event, NASCAR had no choice but to change the schedule for this weekend’s Busch Light Clash exhibition event at the LA Memorial Coliseum.

On Saturday afternoon, NASCAR announced the Main Event of the race would be bumped up to Saturday at 8 PM ET (5 PM PT). FS1 will carry the television broadcast of the Clash while MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will carry the radio broadcast.

Here is the official statement from NASCAR:

“Due to the threat of unprecedented severe weather on Sunday, the NASCAR Cup Series and NASCAR Mexico Series race events for the Clash have been moved to Saturday night. Thanks to the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum and Los Angeles Public Safety for their partnership and support to make the schedule adjustment for tonight’s event to ensure a safe experience for fans, competitors, and staff. We understand weather conditions may worsen as the day progresses, so we encourage fans to make decisions in the best interest of safety. We appreciate our fans, partners, and everyone associated with this event on this unprecedented event.”

Due to the schedule change, the Busch Light Clash race weekend will be condensed as well. The Heat Races and Las Chance Qualifier race have been scrapped and the top 22 positions in the starting grid will now be set by lap times in Saturday’s practice session.

The final position in the 23-car field will be set by 2023 driver points.

Saturday’s practice session will now be scheduled for 5:35 PM ET (2:35 PM PT).

The NASCAR Mexico Series race, which was also set for Sunday, will be run after the Busch Light Clash on Saturday night.

First appeared on www.racingamerica.com

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top